Finding Headspace

After a whirl-wind fall break, Modonnell and I picked a new weekly challenge – meditating a little with the popular App, Headspace. I’ve continued to keep getting up early following our rise ‘n shine challenge and my mornings have been both fun and productive. However, it seems like a good idea to add something more here. So let’s investigate Headspace.

I’m on day two of the program, and so far, it’s just what you would expect. It’s a guided meditation, a guy named Andy Puddicombe narrates the “practice” (he even have a British accent, which means he is smart, right?). According to their website, getting more “headspace” helps with managing stress, fostering creativity, increasing focus, reducing anxiety, and building relationships, all noble goals. Further, the website notes that just after 11 hours of mindful meditation, “practitioners had structural changes in the part of the brain that involves monitoring our focus and self-control.” After the first two sessions, I’m 20 minutes in. Only 10 hours and 40 minutes to go.

We’ll keep you updated as we move through the week.

In the meantime, I don’t know about you, but I’m feelin’ 22 (I’m sorry, I’m sorry, I couldn’t resist.)

-@CT

p.s. peep my new jam

Leave a Reply

